February 23 Special Election for City Council, 31st District

Queens has a second City Council Special Election in 2021.  This time, it is in the 31st District!  Brad Berfas is our Republican candidate, and the son of our Board member, Miriam Berfas!

14 candidates submitted their petitions by December 16th deadline.  Perri Pierre and Kevin Carter were ruled off by the Board on January 7th.  Vanessa Simon (Joseph Kasper) and Bradley Jared Berfas were also ruled off by having challenged each other’s petition.  The following 10 candidates are on the February 23rd ballot.

Selvena N. Brooks-Powers “Powers 4 Queens”
Manny Silva “People Powered”
Pesach Osina “Community Unity”
Nancy J. Martinez “Rockaway United”
Shawn Rux “Rux for Us”
Latanya Collins “Collins 4 Queens”
Rev. Sherwyn James “Time for Change”
Latoya R. Benjamin “The Time is Now”
Perri Pierre “Progess with PP”
Nicole S. Lee “Lee for Jobs”

Again, none of the candidates on the ballot is Republican.


February 2nd Special Election for City Council, 24th District

Mayor de Blasio announced a Special Election to fill the remaining term of ex-City Councilman, Rory Lancman, to be held on February 2, 2021.

Angelo King, our club Correspondence Secretary, is running under the King for Queens party.  Another fellow Republican, Howard Neiman, is the candidate for Law and Liberty party.

This will be the City’s first “ranked choice” election.

Unfortunately, they have been knocked off the ballot by John Haggerty of the Queens County GOP and challenger, James Gennaro on December 8, 2020.

Candidates on the ballot are:
Moumita Ahmed “Mo For The People”
Deepti Sharma “A Better Queens”
Dilip Nath “Your Voice Matters”
Neeta Jain “Community First”
• Michael Earl Brown “United Citizens”
Mujib U. Rahman “Unity”
James F. Gennaro “Queens Strong”
Soma S. Syed “Soma for Queens”


2 Republicans in Queens were ahead 11/3, but lost 12/1

3rd Congressional candidate, George A.D. Santos (R,C,L) is ahead of Thomas R. Suozzi (D,W,I) by 4,000 votes: 137,864 vs. 133,634.

John Alexander M. Sakelos (R,C,I) is ahead of Edward C. Braunstein (D) in the 26th Assembly District (Bayside) 19,599 to 17,808.

When absentee votes were counted and certified on December 1st, Santos was behind by 46,505 votes: 161,907 vs. 208,412; and Sakelos lost by 5,080 votes: 23,603 vs. 28,683.